Our mission

"Building a sustainable future through discovery, research and conservation of plants." Steven Dessein, CEO

A Botanic Garden with a rich history…

 

The history of the Botanic Garden dates back to 1796. This way, the institution is older than the kingdom of Belgium, and therefore we have an experience with plants of more than two centuries. The Botanic Garden comprises 92 hectares with a lot of historic buildings, including a castle with a tower from the 12th century.

 

With unique collections…

 

The Botanic Garden has a huge herbarium with approximately four million specimens including the greatest rose herbarium of the world and important historical collections from Brazil and Central African Republic. The Botanic Garden also has a botanical library with more than 200,000 books from the 15th century till today.

 

With the mission to conserve plants for the future…

 

The Botanic Garden stores more than 18,000 different living plants including several threatened species like the Kwango giant cycad (Encephalartos lautentianus). There is also an internationally recognized seedbank with e.g. seeds from multiple wild bean species.

 

To study plants and mushrooms…

 

The activities of our scientists to map and study the diversity of plants, mushrooms and algae cover the whole world, from Antarctica to the rain forests of Congo. The scientific activity focusses on a correct and scientific identification of plant species. What are the characteristics of one species? How many species exist? How can we distinguish species from one another? Unless we find answers to these fundamental questions, no economic activity whatsoever based on plants and plant-derived products can be carried out. Knowing the scientific name of a species is the key to unlock all the information on that species. A correct identification e.g. helps to distinguish poisonous species from related medicinal plants or to identify threatened species in need of protection measures.

 

To disseminate knowledge on plants…

 

Every year approximately 100,000 people visit the Botanic Garden. Most visitors especially know the plant collections and the glasshouses, yet there is so much more. Our scientists share their knowledge with passion and enthusiasm with the public. The Botanic Garden developed a whole set of tools in order to disseminate as efficiently as possible the knowledge on plants as well as to make the public aware of the necessity of plant conservation.

Notre mission

"Explorer, étudier et décrire le monde végétal, le préserver et le faire connaître pour construire ensemble un avenir durable." Steven Dessein, administrateur général 

Un Jardin botanique avec une histoire riche…

L’histoire du Jardin botanique remonte à 1796. Ainsi l’institution est plus vieille que le royaume de Belgique et nous avons une expérience des plantes de plus de deux siècles. Le Jardin botanique comprend 92 hectares avec plein de bâtiments historiques, dont un château avec une tour datant du 12ème siècle.

 

Avec des collections uniques…


Le Jardin botanique dispose d’un grand herbier avec à peu près quatre millions de spécimens dont le plus grand herbier de roses au monde ainsi que d’importantes collections historiques provenant du Brésil et de l’Afrique centrale. En outre, le Jardin botanique héberge une bibliothèque botanique avec plus de 200.00 ouvrages, des publications allant du 15ème siècle jusqu’à nos jours.

 

Avec la mission de garder les plantes pour l’avenir…


Le Jardin botanique garde plus de 18.000 différentes sortes de plantes vivantes dont différentes sortes en voie de disparition comme la fougère Laurentpalm (Encephalartos lautentianus). En outre, on y trouve une banque de semence internationalement reconnue avec entre autres des semences de multiples variétés d’haricots sauvages.

 

D’étudier les plantes et les champignons…


Les activités de nos scientifiques pour cartographier et d’étudier la diversité des plantes, champignons et algues s’étendent au monde entier, de l’Antarctique jusqu’aux forêts tropicales du Congo. Le travail scientifique se concentre sur une identification correcte et scientifique des différentes sortes de plantes. Quelles sont les caractéristiques d’une sorte ? Combien de sortes y a-t-il ? De quelle façon est-ce que l’on peut distinguer les sortes les unes des autres ? Aucune d’activité économique ayant trait aux plantes ou des plantes de produits dérivés n’est possible sans que les réponses sur ces questions fondamentales soient données. La connaissance du nom scientifique est la clé pour valoriser toute information sur cette sorte. Une identification correcte aide par exemple à distinguer les sortes toxiques des plantes médicinales apparentées ou bien d’identifier des sortes en voie de disparition ayant besoin de mesures protectrices.

 

De diffuser la connaissance des plantes…

Chaque année environ 100.000 personnes visitent le Jardin botanique. La plupart des visiteurs connaissent surtout les collections de plantes ainsi que les serres, mais naturellement il y a beaucoup plus à visiter. Nos scientifiques partagent avec passion et enthousiasme leurs connaissances avec le public. Le Jardin botanique a développé toute une série d’outils afin de diffuser la connaissance sur les plantes de la manière la plus efficace possible et de sensibiliser le public à la nécessité de la conservation des plantes.