Press release

The origin of green seaweeds and their role in the early evolution of animals elucidated

Meise - 8 January 2020. Researchers from Ghent University and Meise Botanic Garden have elucidated, for the first time, the origins of green seaweeds. The early evolution of green seaweeds likely shaped early animal evolution by altering benthic ecosystems and furnishing novel ecological niches. The results were published today in the journal PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences).

Green algae emerged more than 1 billion years ago. At the beginning of their evolution, a split gave rise to two groups, one from which land plants later emerged, about 400 million years ago; the other gave rise to a wide diversity of green algae from freshwater and marine waters, including the green seaweeds (macroscopic marine algae) that play a prominent role in marine ecosystems.

Due to their antiquity, the evolutionary relationships between the different groups of green seaweeds are very difficult to resolve and have remained unknown for a long time. By comparing the genes of a large selection of green seaweeds, combined with data from fossils, researchers have been able to clarify these relationships and identify important evolutionary events that have taken place over geological time.

The results indicate that green seaweeds diversified about 650-750 million years ago, at the end of the Neoproterozoic. This geological period was affected by two major glaciations in which ice caps reached the equator. The ancestors of green seaweeds survived these extreme climatic conditions in isolated refuges at the bottom of shallow seas. Isolation of millions of years resulted in the independent evolution of different green algal groups. After these glaciations, temperatures rose (Ediacaran geological period) releasing and opening up the sea floor. In these conditions, green seaweeds were able to disperse and diversify.

An increased supply of nutrients and biotic interactions such as grazing by animals probably triggered the evolution towards macroscopic growth in the different groups of green algae through different strategies, such as multicellularity (e.g. Dictyosphaeria, see picture) and the evolution of giant cells (e.g. Caulerpa, see picture). In turn, the proliferation of green seaweeds caused fundamental changes in shallow marine ecosystems that likely played a key role in the evolution of marine animals.

 

Press info:

  

Contact: Frederik Leliaert (frederik.leliaert@plantentuinmeise.be, +32 472301653) en Olivier De Clerck (olivier.declerck@ugent.be, +32 498126988)

 

Scientific article: Del Cortona A., Jackson C. J., Bucchini F., Van Bel M., D’hondt S., Škaloud P., Delwiche C. F., Knoll A. H., Raven J. A., Verbruggen H., Vandepoele K., De Clerck O. & Leliaert F. (2019) Neoproterozoic origin and multiple transitions to macroscopic growth in green seaweeds. PNAS: www.pnas.org/cgi/doi/10.1073/pnas.1910060117

 
   

The tropical green seaweed Dictyosphaeria, a multicellular alga composed of several giant cells. Photo: Frederik Leliaert


 
The strange world of the Ediacarian (630-542 million years ago), a period in which green seaweeds were able to diversify after the severe ice ages of the Cryogenian (Wikimedia Commons contributors, "File:Life in the Ediacaran sea.jpg" (accessed January 3, 2020) (CC BY-SA 2.0)  
The tropical green seaweed Caulerpa consists of a single giant cell.


 

 
 

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

Communiqué de presse
 

L'origine des algues vertes marines et leur rôle dans l'évolution précoce des animaux élucidée

 

Meise - 8 janvier 2020. Des chercheurs de l'Université de Gand et du Jardin botanique de Meise ont élucidé, pour la première fois, l'origine des algues vertes marines. L'évolution précoce des algues vertes a probablement façonné l'évolution animale primitive en modifiant les écosystèmes benthiques et en fournissant de nouvelles niches écologiques. Les résultats ont été publiés aujourd'hui dans la revue PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences).


Les algues vertes sont apparues il y a plus d'un milliard d'années. Au début de leur évolution, une scission a donné naissance à deux groupes, dont l'un a donné naissance aux plantes terrestres, il y a environ 400 millions d'années ; l'autre a donné naissance à une grande diversité d'algues vertes d'eau douce et d'eau de mer, y compris les algues vertes (algues marines macroscopiques) qui jouent un rôle important dans les écosystèmes marins.

En par leur origine ancienne, les relations évolutives entre les différents groupes d'algues vertes sont très difficiles à déterminer et sont restées longtemps inconnues. Mais en comparant les gènes d'une grande sélection d'algues vertes marines, combinés à des données provenant de fossiles, les chercheurs ont pu clarifier ces relations évolutives et identifier des événements évolutifs importants qui ont eu lieu au cours des temps géologiques.

Les résultats indiquent que les algues vertes se sont diversifiées il y a environ 650-750 millions d'années, à la fin du Néoprotérozoïque. Cette dernière période géologique a été affectée par deux grandes glaciations au cours desquelles les calottes glaciaires ont atteint l'équateur. Les ancêtres des algues vertes marines ont survécu à ces conditions climatiques extrêmes dans des refuges isolés, au fond de mers peu profondes. Cet isolement a duré plusieurs millions d'années et a entraîné une évolution indépendante et séparée de différents groupes d'algues vertes. Après ces glaciations, les températures ont augmenté (période géologique de l'Édiacarien) libérant et ouvrant les fonds marins. Dans ces conditions, les algues vertes ont pu se disperser et se diversifier.

Un apport accru de nutriments et des interactions biotiques telles que le broutage par les animaux ont probablement déclenché l’évolution vers une croissance macroscopique dans les différents groupes d'algues vertes grâce à différentes stratégies : multicellularité (par ex. Dictyosphaeria, voir photo), évolution de cellules géantes (par ex. Caulerpa, voir photo). A son tour, l'émergence des algues vertes a provoqué des changements fondamentaux dans les écosystèmes marins peu profonds, ce qui a probablement joué un rôle clé dans l'évolution des animaux marins.

 

Infos presse :

 

Contact : Frederik Leliaert (frederik.leliaert@plantentuinmeise.be, + 32 472301653) en Olivier De Clerck (olivier.declerck@ugent.be, +32 498126988)

 

Scientific article: Del Cortona A., Jackson C. J., Bucchini F., Van Bel M., D’hondt S., Škaloud P., Delwiche C. F., Knoll A. H., Raven J. A., Verbruggen H., Vandepoele K., De Clerck O. & Leliaert F. (2019) Neoproterozoic origin and multiple transitions to macroscopic growth in green seaweeds. PNAS: www.pnas.org/cgi/doi/10.1073/pnas.1910060117 


   
 
L'algue verte tropicale Dictyosphaeria, une algue multicellulaire composée de plusieurs cellules géantes. Photo : Frederik Leliaert.


 
Le monde étrange de la période de l'Édiacarien (630-542 millions d'années), une période au cours de laquelle les algues vertes ont pu se diversifier après les sévères glaciations du Cryogénien (Wikimedia Commons contributors, "File:Life in the Ediacaran sea.jpg" (accessed January 3, 2020) (CC BY-SA 2.0).  
L'algue verte tropicale Caulerpa est constituée d'une seule cellule géante. Photo : Frederik Leliaert. .


 


 

 
 

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies