Sat 1 May - Wed 30 Jun

Expo "Between nature & culture "

From plant structures to architectural design
1 May
-
30 Jun
  • 1 May
    -
    30 Jun
    This activity is included in the general Botanic Garden ticket. This ticket gives you access to all public areas of the Botanic garden.

Starting from the starting point 'plants and biomimicry', the lecturers of the Architecture Bachelor's programme at the University of Antwerp developed a design assignment for their students, with the final goal of designing a pavilion. 


For the first phase of their assignment, the first-year students observed and analysed a selection of plants from the Plant Palace, the Greenhouses in Meise Botanic Garden. In a second step - conceptualisation - they investigated which characteristics of the plants could be traced to an idea or concept that could form the basis for their design. In a final phase, they used this structural insight to create a pavilion design, taking into account the possibilities and limitations of the site.

Biomimicry


The beauty and ingenuity of plants inspires people in many ways. Biomimicry is a specific example of this. The term is derived from the Greek and means something like 'imitate life'. During their evolution over millions of years, plants - and all other living creatures - have developed forms, processes and systems from which technology, science, construction and architecture can learn much. After all, living beings have evolved in such a way that they adapt optimally to their environment in an efficient and energy-saving manner.


Designers therefore benefit from 'imitating' plants in their designs.


A selection of the most successful designs will be exhibited in the WOODlab.


On 30 June the exhibition will be closed with a science café on biomimicry.

Book your ticket here

Cookies

We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings

sam. 1 mai - mer. 30 juin

Expo: "Entre nature et culture "

Des structures végétales à la conception architecturale
1 mai
-
30 juin
  • 1 mai
    -
    30 juin
    Cette activité est incluse dans le billet général du Jardin botanique. Ce billet vous donne accès à l'ensemble du Jardin botanique.

Partant du thème "plantes et biomimétisme", les enseignants du programme de bachelor en architecture de l'Université d'Anvers ont élaboré un projet pour leurs étudiants, avec pour objectif final la conception d'un pavillon.


Pour la première phase de leur mission, les étudiants de première année ont observé et analysé une sélection de plantes du Palais des Plantes. Dans une deuxième étape - la conceptualisation - ils ont cherché à savoir quelles propriétés des plantes pouvaient être reliées à une idée ou à un concept qui pourrait servir de base à leur conception. Dans une phase finale, un projet de pavillon a été conçu avec cette vision structurelle, en tenant compte des possibilités et des limites dans le domaine de la construction.


Biomimétisme


La beauté et l'ingéniosité des plantes inspirent les hommes de bien des façons. Le biomimétisme en est un exemple précis. Le terme est dérivé du grec et signifie littéralement "imiter la vie". Au cours de leur évolution sur des millions d'années, les plantes - et toutes les autres créatures vivantes - ont développé des formes, des processus et des systèmes dont la technologie, la science, la construction et l'architecture peuvent tirer de nombreux enseignements. Après tout, les êtres vivants ont évolué de telle sorte qu'ils s'adaptent de façon optimale à leur environnement, de manière efficace et économe en énergie.


Les créateurs ont donc intérêt à "imiter" les plantes dans leurs projets.


Une sélection des conceptions les plus réussies sera exposée dans le Labo du BOIS.


Le 30 juin 2021, l'exposition sera clôturée par un café scientifique sur le thème du biomimétisme.

Achetez/Réservez votre ticket ici

Cookies

Nous utilisons des cookies et des techniques similaires pour analyser l'utilisation du site internet, permettre de montrer du contenu provenant de tiers comme par exemple des vidéos, et pour diverses autres fonctionnalités. Ces cookies sont également placés par des tiers. En cliquant sur “Accepter”, vous donnez votre accord. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord, vous pouvez spécifier vos préférences via le bouton "Ajuster les paramètres". Plus d'informations…

Des cookies sont nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du site internet. De cette façon, votre panier sera mémorisé lors de la commande et vous pourrez vous connecter avec votre compte personnel sur le site.

Les cookies sont également nécessaires pour enrichir votre expérience sur le site. Par exemple, des contenus multimédias délivrés par des tiers tels que les vidéos, sont souvent accompagnés de cookies. Nous conservons également des statistiques pour améliorer continuellement le site internet.

Enfin, les cookies sont utilisés pour collecter des informations complémentaires sur nos activités marketing, telles que les newsletters et actions promotionnelles, aussi efficacement que possible et de façon personnalisée.

Paramètres des cookies