Diatoms, art in a box of nature

Minuscule little artworks magnified
29 Jun
-
1 Dec
  • Sat 29 Jun - Sun 1 Dec
    Bouchout Castle

Diatoms are microscopically small, single-celled algae. They protect their fragile cell contents using two external valves made of silicon dioxide that fit nicely together like a cheese box. Most diatoms are no bigger than a tenth or even a hundredth of a millimeter, but these algae still form the very important first link in the food chain. Diatoms in rivers and oceans fix half to two thirds of the atmospheric CO2 through their photosynthesis, producing that way also about 20% of all oxygen worldwide.


Each species has a unique pattern on its valves that facilitates the identification of the species. This pattern, consisting of a beautiful combination of lines and dots, gives these diatoms the allure of real, miniscule, small works of art. The exhibition "Diatoms, art in a box of nature" takes these valves and their design as a starting point. With different materials - ceramics, watercolour art, photography and printing - the shape and structure of diatoms are the central inspiration for the artists.


Prof. Dr. Bart Van de Vijver, a researcher at Meise Botanic Garden and the University of Antwerp, is the curator of this exhibition. He brought together 4 artists and 2 photographers around the idea of ​​using diatoms as an art object. He himself delivered some beautiful pictures of diatom valves made with the help of a scanning electron microscope.


Maarten Vanden Eynde is a Flemish artist who lives and works in Brussels and Saint-Mihiel (France). His 5-metre work, The Power of None, represents the contemporary impact of silicon on daily life in a versatile way. Photographs of diatoms, made from a historical microscopic slide, were transferred using specialized printing techniques to large silicon disks, which were arranged as solar panels around a central silicon brain.


The Dutch artist Riet Bakker makes organic abstract ceramics from stoneware clay with a sleek design and a great eye for detail. Her work is inspired by the architectural aspect of shapes from nature and the dynamics of growth and movement of (micro-)organisms. For the exhibition she made a series of diatom ceramics based on photographs by Bart Van de Vijver and others.


The young French artist Marine Coutelas also tries to shape nature with ceramics. She is particularly interested in the shape and anatomy of plants that she displays in large, often complex, compositions of plant leaves and shells in plaster and ceramics.


Prof. Dr. Martyn Kelly is an English scientist who tries to portray communities of pebble algae in watercolours. His works take us into the very varied underwater world of rivers and lakes that are often much more diverse and richer than you might think.


Finally, Jef Schoors from the Royal Antwerp Society for Micrography delivered five light microscopic images of diatom algae taken from so-called historical salon preparations that are part of the famous Van Heurck collection, kept in the Botanic Garden in Meise.


For more information: Bart Van de Vijver (Meise Botanic Garden, 0032 2 260 09 41, bart.vandevijver@plantentuinmeise.be

Onderdeel van:
Temporary exhibitions
Summer

Bekijk onze thema's

Diatomées,

l'art dans un coffret de nature
29 juin
-
1 déc.

Les diatomées sont des algues unicellulaires microscopiques. Elles protègent leur cellule fragile à l'aide de deux valves externes en dioxyde de silicium qui s'emboîtent bien comme une boîte à fromage. La plupart des diatomées ne font pas plus d'un dixième, voire d'un centième de millimètre, mais ces algues constituent principalement le premier maillon très important de la chaîne alimentaire. Les diatomées dans les rivières et les océans fixent la moitié aux deux tiers du CO2 atmosphérique lors de leur photosynthèse, produisant ainsi environ 20% de l'oxygène total dans le monde.


Chaque espèce a un motif unique sur ses valves qui facilite l'identification de l'espèce. Ce motif, composé d’une belle combinaison de lignes et de points, confère à ces diatomées l’attrait de véritables petites œuvres d’art. L'exposition "Diatomées, l'art dans un coffret de nature" prend ces valves et leur dessin comme point de départ. Avec différents matériaux - céramique, aquarelle, photographie et impression - la forme et la structure des diatomées constituent l’inspiration centrale des artistes.


Prof. Dr. Bart Van de Vijver, chercheur au Jardin botanique de Meise et à l'université d'Anvers, est le curateur de cette exposition. Il a réuni 4 artistes et 2 photographes autour de l'idée d'utiliser les diatomées comme objet d'art. Il a lui-même livré de belles images de valves de diatomées réalisées à l'aide d'un microscope électronique à balayage.


Maarten Vanden Eynde est un artiste flamand qui vit et travaille à Bruxelles et à Saint-Mihiel (France). Son travail de 5 mètres, The Power of None, représente de manière polyvalente l'impact contemporain du silicium sur la vie quotidienne. Des photographies de diatomées, fabriquées à partir d’une lame microscopique historique, ont été transférées à l’aide de techniques d’impression spécialisées sur de grands disques de silicium, disposés en panneaux solaires autour d’un cerveau central en silice.


L'artiste hollandaise Riet Bakker crée des céramiques abstraites organiques à partir d'argile de grès avec un design élégant et un grand sens du détail. Son travail s'inspire de l'aspect architectural des formes issues de la nature et de la dynamique de croissance et de mouvement des (micro) organismes. Pour l'exposition, elle a réalisé une série de céramiques de diatomées basées sur des photographies de Bart Van de Vijver et d'autres.


La jeune artiste française Marine Coutelas tente également de façonner la nature avec de la céramique. Elle s'intéresse particulièrement à la forme et à l'anatomie des plantes qu'elle présente dans de grandes compositions, souvent complexes, de feuilles de plantes et de coquilles de plâtre et de céramiques.


Prof. Dr. Martyn Kelly est un scientifique anglais qui tente de dépeindre des communautés de diatomées dans ses aquarelles. Ses travaux nous entraînent dans le monde sous-marin très varié de rivières et de lacs souvent beaucoup plus diversifiés et plus riches que vous ne le pensez.


Enfin, Jef Schoors de la Société royale d'Anvers pour la Micrographie a livré cinq images au microscope optique de diatomées extraites de préparations de salons historiques faisant partie de la célèbre collection Van Heurck, conservée dans le Jardin botanique de Meise.


Pour plus d'informations: Bart Van de Vijver (Jardin botanique de Meise, 0032 2 260 09 41, bart.vandevijver@plantentuinmeise.be).